In a significant development, the Governing Board of the Pharmaceutical Society of Ghana (PSGH) has announced the appointment of Dr. Paul Owusu Donkor as the Chairperson of the Strategic Plan Coordinating Committee. The committee, comprising representatives from various practice groups within the Society, will be entrusted with spearheading and coordinating the implementation of the PSGH’s ambitious 10-year strategic plan.

Dr. Donkor, an esteemed figure within the pharmaceutical community, brings a wealth of experience and expertise to his new role having  served the PSGH in diverse capacities, including as an editor and Vice Chairperson of the Society’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) planning committee. As a longstanding member of the PSGH since January 2009, and a member of the Academic, Social, and Research Pharmacists’ Association (ASRPA) since January 2011, he has consistently demonstrated dedication and leadership.  Currently, Dr. Paul Owusu Donkor holds the prestigious position of Head of the Department of Pharmacognosy and Herbal Medicine at the University of Ghana School of Pharmacy. His academic and professional background uniquely positions him to contribute to the development and implementation of a strategic plan that addresses the evolving needs of the pharmaceutical landscape.

The PSGH’s 10-year strategic plan is anticipated to chart a course for the society’s growth, innovation, and enhanced impact on healthcare in Ghana. The Strategic Plan Coordinating Committee, under Dr. Donkor’s leadership, will play a crucial role in ensuring the effective execution of the plan, fostering collaboration among various practice groups, and aligning the Society’s efforts with emerging industry trends. The appointment of Dr. Paul Owusu Donkor reflects the PSGH’s commitment to leadership excellence and strategic foresight. As the pharmaceutical landscape continues to evolve, his wealth of experience is expected to guide the PSGH towards achieving new milestones and furthering its mission of advancing pharmacy practice in Ghana.

Other members of the Committee are:

  1. Pharm. Harry Amoaning Okyere, -Strategic Plan Manager
  2. Pharm. Dr. Emmanuel K. Ireland – CPPA
  3. Pharm. Emmanuel Kojo Arthur—IPA
  4. Pharm. Dr. (Mrs.) Mavis Sersah Nyarko – ASRPA
  5. Pharm. Dr. Nii Sekoh Abbey-Ashong – PRASMA
  6. Pharm. Reginald Sekyi-Brown – ECPG
  7. Pharm. Nat Coompson — GHOSPA