The West African Postgraduate College of Pharmacists (WAPCP) held its 36th Annual General Meeting, Scientific Symposium, and 66th Council Meeting in Banjul, The Gambia, on Tuesday, April 16th, 2024. The event, held under the theme ‘Medicine Safety,’ saw the induction and acceptance of new Fellows into the College.

The keynote address, delivered by Dr. Edit A Annan from the WHO Afro Office in Congo Brazzaville, and Sambo Sowe, representing Professor Pierre Gomez, Gambian Minister of Higher Education, emphasized the importance of medicine safety in promoting public health. The ceremony honored eighty-one students who successfully completed the rigorous four-year Fellowship program, as well as two Honorary Fellows and distinguished individuals from Francophone and Lusophone countries. Addressing the gathering, Alhaji Murtada Sesay, President of WAPCP, emphasized the College’s commitment to improving healthcare delivery in the region. He called for a moment of silence to honor departed colleagues and highlighted the College’s role in addressing emerging health challenges.

Mrs. Markieu Janneh Kaira, President of the Pharmaceutical Society of The Gambia, provided insights into WAPCP’s mission of professional training and capacity building to meet evolving healthcare needs. She reiterated the College’s focus on enhancing pharmaceutical care and technical expertise to improve health outcomes.

Mr. Jimmy Olu Coker, Gambia Chapter Chairman, stressed the significance of the symposium’s theme on Medicine Safety and Pharmacovigilance in addressing the misuse and abuse of medicines in the region. He commended the new Fellows for their dedication and welcomed colleagues from Francophone countries into the College.

Several Ghanaian delegates were present at the event. Among them were eight Fellows of the college, namely: Prof. Eric Woode, Mr. Joseph Nsiah Nyoagbe, Prof. Mahama Duwiejua, Dr. Mrs. Martha Gyansa-Lutterodt, Mr. Samuel Nkum Tenkorang, Mrs. Irene B. Agyemang, Mrs. Barbara Mensah-Amewuda, and Dr. Gabriel Kwesi Nimo Essilfie-Essel.

Additionally, the gathering welcomed two newly elected Fellows, Prof. Kwame Buabeng and Dr. Augustina Koduah, alongside five new Fellows by examination: Dr. Salifu Alhassan Tiah, Dr. Frempomaa Nelson, Dr. Happy Ekar Smart, Dr. George Afful, and Dr. Mrs. Bertha Ekua Abakah. The Ghanaian contingent further included three members of WAPCP and three invited officials, totaling 23 delegates.

Invited officials were Dr. Samuel Kow Donkoh, President of the PSGH, Dr. Daniel Amaning Danquah, registrar of the Pharmacy Council, and Dr. Yvonne Yirenkyiwaa Esseku, rector of the Ghana College of Pharmacists.