The President Samuel Kow Donkoh-led administration as part of efforts to streamline and improve the Society’s welfare packages, to nurture and sustain the interest of members in affairs of the Society, appointed a welfare committee headed by Pharm. Egbert Nii Kpakpo Bruce, to review the current welfare guidelines and make the necessary recommendations, among many other things.

The committee had completed their work and submitted their report to the President and the Standing Executive Committee (SEC). The SEC, having satisfied itself with the work of the welfare committee made some recommendations to be considered by the Governing Board. The GB has approved for at least, a one hundred percent (100%) increment in the welfare amount payable to members and fellows or their dependents.

When fully operational, end of year PSGH token donation to elderly members will increase from ₵250 to ₵500.   The demise of a fellow or member will see their families or dependents receive an amount of ₵2000 and ₵2500 respectively, up from ₵1200 and ₵1000. Finally, the demise of a child, spouse or a parent of a member will see a member receive ₵1000 welfare support, up from ₵500.

In addition, GB supports the welfare committee’s suggestions that all PSGH regional branches must institute a sustainable welfare support scheme for members that is independent of what is available from national level. The President and the entire GB commended the welfare committee for such an excellent dedication to their Terms of Reference and timely delivery of results.

Other members of the welfare committee are; Pharm. George Attara Boye, Pharm. Angela Asamoah, Pharm. Dorcas Boateng, pharm. James Asamoah Darko, Pharm. Awo Akua Afriyie Kyei, Pharm.Dr Michael Tetteh Odoi and the PSGH executive Secretary,Rev Dennis Sena Awitty.