The Pharmacy Department of The Bank Hospital in Accra reached a pivotal milestone today with the inauguration of an Adhoc Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee. Headed by Pharm. Dr. Mrs. Lydia Opoku-Ahene, the Pharmacy Department convened a team of dedicated professionals to oversee and coordinate Antimicrobial Stewardship programs within the hospital. The guest of honour for the event was Pharm. Dr. Samuel Kow Donkoh, the PSGH president.

Unveiling the Committee:

Pharm. Dr. Samuel Kow Donkoh, officially unveiled the Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee, commending the Bank Hospital’s Pharmacy Department for taking a proactive step in addressing the critical issue of Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR). He emphasized the importance of such initiatives and called on all health facilities to establish Antimicrobial Stewardship measures and designate champions for effective implementation.

Event Chairperson:

The event, held at The Bank Hospital, had the honor of being chaired by Dr. Charlotte Sarfo, the Medical Director of the hospital. Dr. Sarfo highlighted the pivotal role of Antimicrobial Stewardship in ensuring the responsible use of antimicrobials and protecting public health.

Keynote Speaker’s Insights:

Dr. Mrs. F. Ama Nkansah, a Consultant Clinical Pharmacist and Acting Director of Pharmacy at the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital, delivered the keynote address. She underscored the urgent need for a multidisciplinary approach in addressing the threat of AMR. Dr. Nkansah elucidated the core elements of Antimicrobial Stewardship, emphasizing the importance of rational use of antimicrobials, infection prevention and control, the need for surveillance, and providing continuous education to healthcare professionals, patients, and the community about the responsible use of antimicrobials.

Dr. Nkansah also highlighted the need for top management support in successfully implementing Antimicrobial Stewardship programs.

Committee Members:

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee comprises are

  1. Mrs. Elsie Nkrumah
  2. Desmond Nii Osenda
  3. Richard Kumi Nyarko
  4. Eben-Alswell Lomotey
  5. Grace Donkor
  6. Agnes Boham Ainguah

Call to Action:

The inauguration ceremony concluded with a resounding call to action, urging healthcare facilities across the nation to prioritize Antimicrobial Stewardship measures. The establishment of such committees is seen as a crucial step in safeguarding the efficacy of antimicrobials, addressing AMR, and ensuring the well-being of communities.

The Bank Hospital’s commitment to Antimicrobial Stewardship is a commendable initiative that aligns with global efforts to combat the rising threat of AMR. The PSGH continues to advocate for similar measures across the healthcare landscape, emphasizing the collective responsibility in preserving the effectiveness of antimicrobial treatments for future generations.